Board Members

Ava Perraton

Region 6 Vice President

Ava became regional vice president in 2013. She brings with her an extensive background in Person Centered Focusing Oriented psychotherapy, women’s issues and anti-violence work.  She currently lives and practices in Clearwater.  Ava is mindful of the trust placed in her as a board member and strives to bring critical thought and ethical governance policies to the board table.

Chris Stasiuk

Region 1 Vice President

Chris became regional vice president in 2008.  He has been a counsellor for 18 years and has his own practice in Qualicum Beach specializing in marriage and family relationships and male issues. Chris is committed to providing his regional membership with opportunities to grow their skills through professional development and continuing competency events.


Shenaz Hanif-Shahban

Chair of Ethics and Standards

Coming soon…

David Paterson

Interim President & Treasurer

David Paterson became the Interim President of BCACC in 2016.

Previously, he was the executive vice-president for five years and has served as chair of many of BCACC’s committees.  In addition, he became BCACC’s Treasurer and Chair of Finance & Audit Committee in 2014.

David is the associate dean and counsellor educator in the SFU Faculty of Education. 

Glen Grigg

Chair of Legislative Review

Glen has been BCACC’s Chair of Legislative Review for 16 years. In addition to his work with BCACC, Glen has a clinical practice, teaches in the Master of Counselling program at City University of Seattle, and provides consultation and training for a variety of clients, including Coastal Health, Fraser Health, and Ministry of Health.

Glen is committed to maintaining a meaningful accountability to a code of ethics, professional scope and standard of practice for BCACC members.

Heidi Davison

Region 5 Vice President

Heidi joined the board in 2015 as regional vice president, Region 5.  She has been in the field for 20 years, and has worked in UBC inpatient psychiatry and with youth. Heidi now runs her own private practice in Cloverdale.  She is committed to continuing to build BCACC into a supportive association that inspires confidence.

Joan Campbell

Chair of Registration

Joan has been a member of the registration committee since 2004 and became chair of the committee in March of 2008.  Joan is committed to a healthy governance process and to appropriate strategic planning for the association.

Currently, she is part of a private practice in Nanaimo and works with a diverse client base in the areas of trauma, anxiety, depression and grief.

John Fraser

Region 2 Vice President

John joined the BCACC Board as Region VP in 2016. He was previously VP of Region 4 for ten years before moving his practice to Victoria.

Kevin Ward

Region 3 Vice President

Kevin has held the position of regional vice president since 2009. He runs a successful private practice in Cranbrook and has worked in intensive trauma resolution as the Director of the Interior Trauma Resolution & Training Centre since 2006. 

Kevin is also certified in Equine Assisted Psychotherapy and Equine Assisted Learning and provides the Equine Program at Top of the World Treatment Center Ranch.

Loralee Warren - ON LEAVE

Chair of Discipline

Loralee joined the board in October 2014 as chair of discipline. Having previously served on the board of directors at the CCPA, Loralee brings with her experience, energy and enthusiasm. She is committed to the challenge of developing strategy, processes and programs that will support counsellors in their important work well into the future.

Loralee has a private practice in Vancouver and also does contract work in the public sector.

Merry Miller

Chair of Continuing Competency

Merry has been chair of the continuing competency committee since 2012.  Merry is committed to ensuring the association is managed in a professional and ethical manner. She runs a private practice in the Kelowna area providing a variety of general counselling services to adolescents and adults.  Her passion is sport and performance enhancement.

Lida Izadi

Region 4 Vice President

Lida has volunteered with the BCACC since 2004 and previously held the position of chair of member services before becoming regional vice president in 2014.  Lida is devoted to the promotion of member services, public protection and is committed to enhancing education and supportive services for Registered Clinical Counsellors.  Lida has her own private practice in Vancouver and also works for the Ministry of Children and Family Development.

Jane Goranson-Coleman

Chair of Inquiry

Coming soon…